Mango Chicken for the Crock Pot!

Oh I know I went on and on about the last Salsa Chicken dish I posted and I don’t want to sound repetitive but OH MY GOSH this dish is one you should know and make asap!  It’s gluten and dairy free (yay) and unless you are like my friend Anne who is allergic to mangos, it’s a super safe, flavorful and healthy dish.

I have made it 3 times now and every time it has gotten the big thumbs up and I have been asked for the recipe.  So here goes, enjoy friends because this one is going to be a favorite, I promise.

Mango Chicken – for the Crock Pot!

Chicken on the bottom

In a bowl add one can of corn (drained and rinsed), one can of black beans (drained and rinsed), 2 tsp of ground cumin and 2 tsp of lemon pepper.

Then add one container of fresh mango salsa and one jar of mango salsa.  Every time I have used Susan’s Gourmet Mango Salsa and once I used Trader Joes fresh mango and papaya salsa and twice I have used Evolution mango salsa.

Stir it up.

Pour over chicken and add 3/4 cup of water and cook!

Shred the chicken, toss again to soak up juices and eat!  Yummy yummy yummy!

Garnish with fresh cut up mango if you want to get super fancy.  Which I did and was indeed super fancy!  But we ate it all up so I don’t have a photo of it.  This dish is best served over a bed of rice or you know what… just eat it on it’s own… it’s that good!

Enjoy and  share this meal with those you love.

If you like this, let me know.  Happy healthy eating friends!

Need:

2 or 3 chicken breast

1 can corn, rinsed and drained

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 jar mango salsa

1 fresh container mango (with papaya or peach) salsa

2 tsp cumin

2 tsp lemon pepper

1/2 cup to 1 cup water

Fresh cut mango for garnish

How:

Place chicken on the bottom of crock pot.  Mix all other ingredients in a bowl and add on top, adding the water last.  Cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 7-8 hours (less time for thawed  vs frozen chicken). Shred with fork, add fresh mango for a sweet burst, stir and serve over a bed of rice.  YUM!

4 thoughts on “Mango Chicken for the Crock Pot!

  1. Kristie says:

    I want to make this but it doesn’t state how long to cook it for or the temperature. Also, is there a printable version of the recipe? I like to keep my recipes in a binder.

    • Hi Kristie,
      If you use thawed chicken you can cook it on high for 4 hours or on low for 8 hours. When I use frozen chicken I cook it on high for 5 hours or low for 8 hours.
      I currently don’t have a printable version but when I get a chance I will make one. It’s so delicious! I hope you enjoy!

      • Kristie says:

        Thank you very much. If you can, can you please let me know when you have the printable version available so I can print it out?

Leave a Reply

