Puree for my babay! (Baby)

Pureeing baby food is surprisingly easy.  It’s not only easy, it is incredibly cost effective.  Plus I know exactly what I am feeding to my child and it’s actually kinda fun.  I do not think jar baby food is bad.  I really have no opinion on it as I have not researched it enough to have an educated opinion.  All I know for sure is that making baby food is hand over fist cheaper than buying jar food.  I love that.  I love feeling like I am getting away with something.  Not that I am getting away with anything, I just feel like a giddy girl every time I make baby food.

I use books, websites and my awesome mom friends for guidance in all things puree.  Here are two wonderful sites that are great guidelines for making baby food.

http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/solids.htm

http://www.babyfooddoctor.com/index.html

I want to encourage all moms who are wondering if it really is as easy as we say it is… because it is.  Here’s how I started.  I ordered Mumi&Bubi Solids Starter Kit off of Amazon.com

I did not get one of those fancy baby makers, in my opinion you don’t really need it.  Just a pot with a steamer pot and a blender.

Once the trays arrived I went to my local farmers market.  Not only are fruits and vegetables cheap at a farmers market, but they also are certified organic and support local farmers.  This is totally the way to go!  Once I had my organic, affordable veggies and fruit I  started to steam, puree and scoop into the ice cube trays.  This must be done with your favorite music playing in the background and a cup of hot tea or better yet a glass of wine!

Check out those green beans!

Zucchini, green beans, sweet potatoes and apples!

Next step is to put the cover on the tray and stick it in the freezer.

Once they are done they come out like yummy little ice cube puree’s.  See the delicious carrot and blueberry puree below!

Frozen butternut squash, acorn squash, zucchini, sweet potatoes, green beans, carrots, apple and blueberries.

Lastly get out the freezer zip lock bags, write on it the veggie or fruit, the date and toss it back in the freezer until your little one wants to eat.

All of this was made in one afternoon.  ONE AFTERNOON!  This massive lot of food will last us for a very long time, and already has.  When it’s time to eat we just pull out a cube of choice and put it in a microwave safe BPA free dish for 30 seconds adding breast milk after or water.  Remember to wait 3-4 days between introducing new foods to your baby, in case there is an allergic reaction.  I hope you enjoy making your baby some puree’s as much as my husband and I do!

Daddy is all “finally I get to feed our son!”  Those are sweet potatoes and they are a favorite in this house.

Life is good.  Oh so good.

Leave a Reply

