Coconut Curry Crockpot

20 Sep

When I try a new recipe and it tastes this good, I have to post it so you can try it too!  Seriously though, I love myself so much when I make a crockpot meal.  I come home from a day at work to a meal that is delicious and ready.  The house smells all tasty and at dinner all our tummies are pleased.  But honestly, the best part of it all is it allows me the time to play with my kid out in the yard instead of cooking in the kitchen.  Once or twice of week making crockpot meals are a life saver! I am so happy to add this to the rotation.  Hope you enjoy!

I was scanning Pintrest and saw a version of this.  It was simple with just chicken and onion.  I thought, it seems like it needs a little something more and I want to try.  So I did.  This is the amazing result!

photo

Recipe:

1 Package of organic chicken breast (you can use chicken thighs if you like)

1 onion, chunky chopped

1 potato, chopped

1 sweet potato, chopped

Green beans (as many as you like)

Carrots (as many as you like)

2 cans coconut milk

Curry powder (4-8 teaspoons, depending on your preference of spice)

1 cup water

Salt to taste

How To:

Layer potatoes and onion on the bottom, veggies then chicken on top.  Mix the coconut milk with the curry powder and pour on top until it covers all the food.  If you need more liquid, add 1 cup water.  Make sure to add salt to taste, I missed this step and added it after, which worked, but it did need a little salt to finish the flavor.  Cook on low for 7 hours or high for 4 hours.  You can chop or shred chicken and return to the crockpot.  Serve over rice and viola!  DELICIOUS!

photo-1

I promise, if you like curry, you will love this dish.  Easy and family approved, both my 2 year old and my husband loved it!

 

Oh my gosh, I just thought, add some fresh ginger and this would probably be even more amazing!  Yum!

One Response to “Coconut Curry Crockpot”

  1. Kim September 20, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    Yum yum yum!

    Check out this one too: http://foodloveswriting.com/2012/11/20/crockpot-thai-chicken-curry/ I made it recently and it was awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

